AFRICAN INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY ORGANIZATION (OAPI) - OA

Jurisdiction - General Information

The African Intellectual Property Organization (OAPI) was created by the Bangui Agreement on March 2, 1977 and came into force on February 8, 1982. A revised Bangui Agreement came into force on February 28, 2002.

The current members of OAPI are: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Chad, the Comoros, the Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, the Niger, Senegal, and Togo.

While its member states are Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) contracting states, they must be designated for a regional patent through OAPI (that is the "national route" via the PCT has been closed). Its member states are also members of the Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property.

More legal information about intellectual property-related laws and regulations of OAPI can be found on WIPO Lex.

Online Patent Register and Online Gazette

OAPI does not have an Online Register. It has an Online Gazette.

Through the Online Gazette you can download the **Full Publications** by clicking on "Consulter le mémoire".

Features and search functionalities

The Online Gazette is published monthly in French. The current coverage is from 2013 to present.

Additional Information

Particularities of patent protection given by OAPI

OAPI registrations automatically extend to all Member States; it is neither necessary nor possible to designate individual member states. The decisions issued by a national court of any member state on the provisions of the OAPI law are binding on all other member states.

Search tips